Demographic data

Prahova county’s population is about 800 000 people and the density is approx. 150 inhabitants/ km. The urbanization of the county is of almost 50%.

Administrative organization

The structure of Prahova County comprises 104 localities: 2 municipalities (Ploiesti, the county’s capital-city and Campina), 12 towns and 90 communes (containing 405 villages). It is the most urban county in the Romania. The capital-city of Prahova County is Ploiesti, situated 60 km north of Bucharest, with an area of 5828 ha and a population of approx. 200 000 people. Ploiesti city was mentioned in chronicles in 1503 and was declared a city in 1601, by Prince Michael the Brave.

închide Panel